Guest List, 2012 White House Iftar Dinner

Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release
August 10, 2012

Expected Attendees at the White House Iftar Dinner

This evening, the President will continue a White House tradition of hosting an Iftar celebrating Ramadan in the State Dining Room. This is the fourth Iftar hosted by the President. The Iftar is the meal that breaks the day of fasting, when Muslim families and communities eat together after sunset.

Below is a list of some of the expected attendees at tonight’s White House dinner celebrating Ramadan:


The Honorable Andre Carson, United States Representative
The Honorable John Conyers, United States Representative
The Honorable Keith Ellison, United States Representative


Mr. Zango Abdu, Minister at the Embassy of Nigeria
His Excellency Yousif Mana Saeed Al Otaiba, United Arab Emirates
His Excellency Adel Ahmed Al-Jubeir, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Her Excellency Hunaina Sultan Al-Mughairy, Sultanate of Oman
His Excellency Mohamed Abdullah M. Al-Rumaihi, State of Qatar
His Excellency Mohammed Al-Hussaini Al-Sharif, League of Arab States, Arab League Mission
Mr. Adel Ahmed Alsuneini, The Charge d'Affaires of Republic of Yemen
His Excellency Abdallah Baali, People's Democratic Republic of Algeria
His Excellency Seydou Bouda, Ambassador of Burkina Faso
His Excellency Daouda Diabate, Republic of Cote d'Ivoire
His Excellency Dino Patti Djalal, Republic of Indonesia
His Excellency Maitine Djoumbe, Republic of Chad
His Excellency Bienvenu Joseph Foe-Atangana, Republic of Cameroon
His Excellency Gilbert Galanxhi, Republic of Albania
His Excellency Eklil Ahmad Hakimi, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
His Excellency Othman Bin Hashim, Ambassador of Malaysia
Mr. Mahmoud Daifallah Hmoud, The Charge d'Affaires of Jordan
His Excellency Akan Ismaili, Republic of Kosovo
Mr. Fakhraddin Ismayilov, The Chargé d'Affaires of the Republic of Azerbaijan
His Excellency Bayney Ram Karran, Cooperative Republic of Guyana
His Excellency Al Maamoun Baba Lamine Keita, Republic of Mali
His Excellency Sergey Ivanovich Kislyak, Russian Federation
Her Excellency Mwanaidi Sinare Maajar, United Republic of Tanzania
Her Excellency Jadranka Negodic, Ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina
His Excellency Ilhomjon Tuychievich Nematov, Republic of Uzbekistan
His Excellency Alieu Momodou Ngum, Republic of The Gambia
His Excellency Cheik Niang, Ambassador to the Republic of Senegal
His Excellency Roble Olhaye, Republic of Djibouti
His Excellency Meret Bairamovich Orazov, Ambassador of Turkmenistan
His Excellency Michael Scott Oren, PhD, State of Israel
His Excellency Akramul Qader, People's Republic of Bangladesh
Her Excellency Sherry Rehman, Islamic Republic of Pakistan
His Excellency Nuriddin Shamsov, Republic of Tajikistan
His Excellency Sameh Hassan Shoukry, Arab Republic of Egypt
His Excellency Maman Sambo Sidikou, Republic of Niger
Mr. Tahsin Timur Soylemez, The Charge d'Affaires of the Republic of Turkey
His Excellency Bockari Kortu Stevens, Republic of Sierra Leone
Her Excellency Amelia Narciso Sumbana, Republic of Mozambique