Friday, January 04, 2013

Senate And House Agriculture Committees Announce Rosters For 113th Congress

Sen. Debbie Stabenow and Rep. Frank Lucas will continue as chairs...
As Congress prepares to tackle the next Farm Bill, the Agriculture Committees in both chambers will have new Members for the 113th Congress, which was sworn in on Thursday.  The Senate committee, with twenty lawmakers, will again be led by Chairman Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), who is now in her second term as Chair.  In the House, Chairman Frank Lucas (R-OK) was reelected a few weeks ago to his second term as Chair, and will lead a 46-member committee. Both committees announced their rosters on Friday, with the House having previously announced five sub-committee chairmanships, listed below.

On the Senate Committee, there will be nine Republicans and 11 Democrats. The Republican members will be the same as in the 112th Congress, with the exception of Sen. Richard Lugar (R-Ind) who was defeated in the primary election.  Sen. Thad Cochran (R-Miss), has asserted his authority and become the Ranking Member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, replacing Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan), who will continue to serve on the committee.

On the House Committee, there are currently 25 Republicans (seven are new), and 19 Democrats, with two vacancies left to fill on the Democratic side.  Ranking Member Collin C. Peterson (D-Minn) will continue in his post.


Chair:  Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Max Baucus (D-Mont)

Michael Bennet (D-CO) 

Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Robert Casey, Jr. (D-PA)

Joe Donnelly (D-Ind)

Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)

Tom Harkin (D-IA)

Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn)

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Ranking Member: Thad Cochrane (R-Miss)

John Boozman (R-ARK)

Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)

Charles Grassley (R-IA) 

John Hoeven (R-ND)

Mike Johanns (R-NE)

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

Pat Roberts (R-Kan)

John Thune (R-SD)


Chair: Rep. Frank Lucas, (OK), Chairman

Rep. Bob Goodlatte (VA)

Rep. Steve King (IA)

Rep. Randy Neugebauer (TX)

Rep. Mike Rogers (AL)

Rep. K. Michael Conaway (TX)

Rep. Glenn Thompson (PA)

Rep. Bob Gibbs (OH)

Rep. Austin Scott (GA)

Rep. Scott Tipton (CO)

Rep. Steve Southerland (FL)

Rep. Rick Crawford (AR)

Rep. Martha Roby (AL)

Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN)

Rep. Chris Gibson (NY)

Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO)

Rep. Reid Ribble (WI)

Rep. Kristi Noem (SD)

Rep. Dan Benishek (MI)

Rep. Jeff Denham (CA)

Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA)

Rep. Richard Hudson (NC)

Rep. Rodney Davis (IL)

Rep. Chris Collins (NY)

Rep. Ted Yoho (FL)

Ranking Member: Collin Peterson (MN-7)

Mike McIntyre (NC-7)

David Scott (GA-13)

Jim Costa (CA-16)

Tim Walz (MN-1)

Kurt Schrader (OR-5)

Marcia Fudge (OH-11)

Jim McGovern (MA-2)

Suzan DelBene (WA-1)

Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35)

Filemon Vela (TX-34)

Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1)

Ann Kuster (NH-2)

Rick Nolan (MN-8)

Pete Gallego (TX-23)       

William Enyart (IL-12)       

Juan Vargas (CA-51)

Cheri Bustos (IL-17)

Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)

Subcommittee Chairs
Rep. Steve King (IA-5):  Department Operations, Oversight, and Nutrition
Jurisdiction:  Agency oversight, review and analysis, special investigations, food stamps, nutrition and consumer programs.

Rep. K. Michael Conaway, (TX-11):  General Farm Commodities and Risk Management

Jurisdiction:  Program and markets related to cotton, cottonseed, wheat, feed grains, soybeans, oilseeds, rice, dry beans, peas, lentils, the Commodity Credit Corporation, risk management, including crop insurance, commodity exchanges, and specialty crops.

Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson (PA-5):  Conservation, Energy, and Forestry

Jurisdiction:  Soil, water, and resource conservation, small watershed program, energy and biobased energy production, rural electrification, forestry in general and forest reserves other than those created from the public domain.

Rep. Austin Scott (GA-8):  Horticulture, Research, Biotechnology, and Foreign Agriculture

Jurisdiction:  Fruits and vegetables, honey and bees, marketing and promotion orders, plant pesticides, quarantine, adulteration of seeds and insect pests, and organic agriculture, research, education and extension, biotechnology and foreign agriculture assistance, and trade promotion programs, generally.

Rep. Rick Crawford (AR-1):  Livestock, Rural Development, and Credit

Jurisdiction: Livestock, dairy, poultry, meat, seafood and seafood products, inspection, marketing, and promotion of such commodities, aquaculture, animal welfare and grazing, rural development, farm security and family farming matters, and agricultural credit.